Introducing two greys advice please ! Behaviour

Discussion in 'Greyhound' started by greyhoundk, Mar 16, 2009.

1. greyhoundk

greyhoundk New Member

Name:
    Eleanor

Introducing two greys advice please !

Hi this comes from another thread in general dog chat regarding my grey Kym who is a bitch and is coming up for 4.

We are thinking of getting another grey and had a bit of a bad experience at a rescue where we felt pressured in to taking home a dog in the back of our car with our other dog and they fought with each other. I know this was a recipe for disaster putting them in together but the rescue were happy to see us go i think.

We are proably going to go to a different kennels where they are a bit more patient and try to match the right dog.

Has anyone got any advice on introducing them to each other and getting them home etc
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Fernsmum

Fernsmum New Member

Name:
    Ali
    I'm no expert but I have introduced adult rescued whippets and a lurcher into my house .
    I like them to meet on neutral territory and go for a walk .
    I would never have them together in a confined space eg car for a few weeks .
    I feed them in separate rooms for a few weeks .
    If they are left alone in the house they would be in different rooms .
    Sleep in different rooms , new dog in my room till I see it is settled .
    New dog on lead for a few weeks , till I am sure of its behaviour .
    If they seem possesive over toys etc the toys would be removed .
    I watch them very carefully at first for any signs of either of them becoming annoyed with the other .
    Maybe I am over cautious but I have never had any problems so it works for me :grin:
  4. Ramble

Ramble Member

Name:
    Ramble
    Can they meet a couple of times before you bring the new dog home? Can you pick up the dog and then bring it home without your resident dog...then meet on neutral ground?
  5. Freyja

Freyja New Member

Name: