Breeding my Labrador Questions

Discussion in 'Labrador Retriever' started by woofwoof, Jun 28, 2006.

1. woofwoof

woofwoof New Member

Name:
    DANIELLE

Breeding my Labrador

HI all, :) :lol:

I am new to this site so i'd like to just say hi to everyone! : )

I wish to breed my female Labrador. I would like some advice on the best time in her life to breed her and where I can get informaiton on this please? and also what precautions I have to take.

I only wish to breed her once and I have never had a female dog before so I am a bit of a novice.

Any advice would be welcome.

Thank you very much. x:grin:
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Foxy

Foxy

Name:
    F
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 28, 2006
  4. Lynn

Lynn Member

Name:
    Lynn
    [​IMG]

Sorry no advice on the breeding but lots of experienced people on here who will be along later to offer help and advice.
  5. Willow

Willow New Member

Name:
    Willow
    Welcome to DW ! :D

Quick Q .. why are you breeding your lab ? Does she show or work ? :D
  6. woofwoof

woofwoof New Member

Name:
    DANIELLE
    HI,

I would just like to thats all. I know some people have very strong views about it but I would just like to. She doesnt show or work. she is just a family dog.

x
  7. crazycockers

crazycockers New Member

Name:
    Sharon
    I don't know anything about Labs, but I do know they need to be hip scored and PRA tested, also I 'think' heart tested, just had a quick look on the internet and all these tests are mentioned.

Can't you go back to the breeder of your girl for help?

It's not easy work being a breeder, Labs can have big litters, do you have the time 24/7 for 8 weeks to care for both mum and pups, if, god forbid, something happened to mum would you be able to cope hand feeding a litter of say 8 pups every 2 hours day and night for the first 4 weeks of their lives?