Bichons - Questions on health Health

Discussion in 'Bichon Frise' started by xrr, Feb 18, 2008.

1. xrr

xrr New Member

Name:
    bo

Bichons - Questions on health

Yet another topic on the gorgeous Bichon Frise!
    What illnesses is the bichon frise prone too? How long will he live for? and anything else you can tell me about the breed
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. sueanncooper

sueanncooper New Member

Name:
    Suzie
    Hi. I'm new to dogsey and new to owning a Bichon, but I have a book that I think you might really like. It's called
    "The Bichon Frise" written by Lexiann Grant and Wayne Hunthausen. The publisher is Terra-Nova. I read this entire book (207 pages) before I got my puppy and I'm so glad that I did. It goes through everything that you will need to know: feeding, training, health, etc. I highly recommend it.

The book indicates that besides the normal dog health problems (worms, dental disease and fleas and ticks) that Bichons have issues with skin allergies, food allergies, luxating patellas (knee cap problems), otitis (ear infections) and hip displaysia. In fact reputable breeders will have their sires and dams x-rayed for hip problems at 2-years old to ensure proper hip functioning prior to breeding.
  4. dan

dan New Member

Name:
    Dan
    Both of my Bichons were relatively healthy but my Benson did have trouble with his ears alot and went under an anaethetic to have them deep cleaned! They both lived 12 years but I unfortunately lost Benson 8 years ago and Ollie 4 years ago.
    Wonderful dogs to have with kids, I had Ben from a pup and he grew up with my daughter and dear Ollie we rescued. The only trouble is that they think they are kids!
    Enjoy your Bichon! By the way what is his or her name? :)
  5. sueanncooper

sueanncooper New Member

Name:
    Suzie
    My puppy is named Ralphie. I have some cute pictures but I can't figure out how to post them. Help?
  6. buzzie

buzzie New Member

Name: