Tail docking in a German Shorthaired Pointer? Questions

Discussion in 'German Shorthaired Pointer' started by gennyjohns, Jul 24, 2014.

1. gennyjohns

gennyjohns New Member

Name:
    Genny Johns

Tail docking in a German Shorthaired Pointer?

Hello, I am new to the German Shorthaired Pointer community. I currently have an English Springer Spaniel. She is a wonderful and sporty dog. When I got her from her breeder, her tail had already been docked. I prefer the look on her and it is helpful in many active situations (hunting, etc). I would not consider tail docking in a cosmetic manor, but I am wondering the preference for GSP owners as to how they do their tails. Thank you!
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. 6JRT's

6JRT's Member

Name:
    u
    I don't own German Pointer but do own 6 JRT's they all have their tails, they don't have any problems & I do think they look better then JRT's with docked tails
  4. Azz

Azz Adminstrator

Name:
    Azz
    I guess you would find working folk generally prefer docking, whereas most everyone else prefers the natural look.

If it's purely for looks, I prefer natural - whatever the breed :)
  5. Malka

Malka Member

Name:
    Juli
    Way back in the days when I bred Griffons their tails were docked when they were 3 or 4 days old, because that was the norm and the KC breed regulation for showing n those days.

Now I know better, but I still sometimes see pictures of undocked Griffons and have to blink and realise that that is how they were meant to be.

Dogs are born with tails and their tails are, or once were, for a purpose. I have no problem with tails that are docked for a purpose in working dogs, but for others then no, it is not for me.
  6. Pork1epe1

Pork1epe1 Member

Name:
    Barbara
    6JRT's likes this.